Home Search Listing Login Parties Contact
Thai Elephant
Main Promos Map Booking Reviews
Thai Elephant
39 Croydon Road, Coney Hall
West Wickham, BR4 9HZ
Your Reviews
DaveAug 25 2014
As far as microwave food goes that's tesco finest. The Interior is littered with damp and the food is lubricated with the frequent drips from the ceiling. satay chicken resembled lumpy horse poo and the toilet was an epileptic nightmare. But value for money 10/10. I'll be back on Tuesday.
QALTQpudOct 18 2011
More posts of this quality. Not the usual c***, plesae
9 happy tummys!Jun 13 2011
We went to the restaurant for a 3 generation female family get together after it was recommended by my brother and his girlfriend! The restaurant was quiet (Tuesday night, after a bank holiday), the staff were polite and helpful, the food was cooked fresh as we ordered and there was plenty of it.
The food was tasty and authentic, yes there are sweet and sour or curry dishes if you wish but not all dishes are covered in it! Neither are they covered in MSG! I am not sure where Steve visited but it certainly wasnt the same Thai Elephant on Coney Hall that we visited!
My daughter (8) recommends the satay dishes, rice and thai curry. The duck and lamb dishes were amazing and the mussles were lovely according to my sister in laws 11 year old niece! We also enjoyed the soups and veggie dishes, the sago pudding was delicious and comforting (just like it should be!)
The staff were happy to provide smaller portions of the dishes if we just wanted to try some and were happy if we ordered more than one portion.
Actually, for a set price of around 15 pounds for adults and 7.50 per child under 12 - all you can eat freshly cooked food, i am not sure what else you could ask for. We would certainly recommend it and would be happy to go there again. We have heard it gets very busy at weekends - but for a cheap meal for a family or small group of friends, or even a quiet evening meal for 2 - Thai Elephant provides nice food in a relaxed setting...
9 happy tummys!Jun 13 2011
We went to the restaurant for a 3 generation female family get together after it was recommended by my brother and his girlfriend! The restaurant was quiet (Tuesday night, after a bank holiday), the staff were polite and helpful, the food was cooked fresh as we ordered and there was plenty of it.
The food was tasty and authentic, yes there are sweet and sour or curry dishes if you wish but not all dishes are covered in it! Neither are they covered in MSG! I am not sure where Steve visited but it certainly wasnt the same Thai Elephant on Coney Hall that we visited!
My daughter (8) recommends the satay dishes, rice and thai curry. The duck and lamb dishes were amazing and the mussles were lovely according to my sister in laws 11 year old niece! We also enjoyed the soups and veggie dishes, the sago pudding was delicious and comforting (just like it should be!)
The staff were happy to provide smaller portions of the dishes if we just wanted to try some and were happy if we ordered more than one portion.
Actually, for a set price of around 15 pounds for adults and 7.50 per child under 12 - all you can eat freshly cooked food, i am not sure what else you could ask for. We would certainly recommend it and would be happy to go there again. We have heard it gets very busy at weekends - but for a cheap meal for a family or small group of friends, or even a quiet evening meal for 2 - Thai Elephant provides nice food in a relaxed setting...
SteveMay 15 2011
This restaurant serves the worst Asian food I've ever eaten. MSG, tampura and sweet and sour sauce is all they smother on all the dishes in one guise or another, broken shells and grit in the mussels too!
They call themselves the Thai Elephant but not one authentic Thai dish on the menu.
Complained about the food but no discount was offered.
AVOID AT ALL COSTS!!
UnknownMay 29 2009
quite a reasonably priced menu for take away compared to similar take aways. food of a good to average standard but would say good value for money. good choice of dishes some thai and chinese, would not say the thai menu is particularly authentic or spicy enough though. all round would give it 6 out of 10.
MichelleMar 13 2008
We have been going to the Thai Elephant for many years now and have always found the staff very helpful. We have had many occasions there - our anniversary, hen parties, birthdays etc. We never feel rushed which really annoys me in some places. The children absolutely love the lazy susan in the middle of the table. They think spinning their food round the table for each other is great. I have just booked again for Easter.
Shaun CarterFeb 1 2008
This is one of my best. The staff are always so welcome and friendly. The food is lovely and it is just a lively place to eat in. It's not the wallpaper your eating or the table and chairs so I feel that anybody who dislikes the Tai Elephant are just too fussy and should stick to cooking their own meals and stay at home!
10/10 for the Tai Elephant.
MarleneOct 1 2007
We recently went to this restaurant with my children and grandchildren. Although the restaurant does look like it needs redecorating and repair, the food was wonderful and the staff friendly and obliging. Especially Cindy, who was very nice to our young grandchildren. We will certainly visit them again.
Gemma ZiadieDec 12 2006
I recently visited this restaurant with my husband. The restaurant was not decorated suitably. The chairs hadv stains and some of the table cloths were ripped. The prawns I ordered as a starter were dry, stale and were accompanied by an old lemon slice. One that looked as if my plate wasn't the first it had visited. The crab claws were ok but the rest of the food seemed like it had been reheated time and time again. The next day both myself and my husband found we had food poisoning after being diagnosed by our GP. I was off work for over a week with chronic vomiting and diahorrea. I would never go back there, I tried to give it the benefit of a doubt but it was absolutely disgusting and I dread to think now what the kitchen must have looked like! Never again!!!!
Lorni AtkinsonJul 22 2006
We have never eaten in the restaurant but have had many take aways delivered. The food is probably the best Thai in the South East. I look forward to eating in the restaurant in the near future
Nigel NewmanMay 28 2006
Wow, what an outstanding restaurant.
Service is very good, you are made very welcome when you enter and right through untill you leave!
Food is wounderfull and no faults can be found, i have been eating here for some time and i have also used the one at West croydon too, but sadly this is now SHUT DOWN.... we found this out today 27 may 2006 and went the west whickem one and was fully booked,
So there for i will reccomend that you book at least 3/4 days in advance for friday and saturdays!
An average spend for 3 people is around 60 - 70 that also includes, a full bottle of wine, botteled water and around 3 tiger beers and 2 irish coffees, Tip is also inclede in the price for us, and we never leave hungray,
John DunningJan 1 2006
This restaurant is the best in the whole universe.I have been going here regularly for over 8 years now. The food is always spot-on and the service too. You will never leave feeling hungry that's for sure! 13:80 is excellent value value for money when you consider the choice and this is not a buffet, it's all freshly cooked. I hope it never changes.
kristSep 27 2005
Love this restaurant. Food is great atmosphere is great and the service is lovely.I'd recommend this place to anyone.
Review this restaurant
Whichtable.com 2007
Home Search & Book Meal/Shows Towns Archive Downloads Links Login Restaurateurs About Us Contact