Home Search Listing Login Parties Contact
Diwana
Main Promos Map Booking Reviews
Diwana
49 Limpsfield Road
Sanderstead, CR2 9LB
Your Reviews
HeleneSep 13 2014
Lovely meal as always,but feel that if you arrive later waiters are not pleased,feel you are rushed through courses not a very nice feeling when you are paying for a meal.
TmqXIYPeNov 16 2011
The forum is a brigther place thanks to your posts. Thanks!
John BAug 13 2011
I've had a lot of Indian food over the years and the food here was better than any I can remember for a long time. Highly recommended.
nrUsYFCnGTpaEzjsWoApr 16 2011
I'm out of league here. Too much brain power on dpislay!
GillNov 6 2009
I can't understand the comments by 'unknown'. I have been going to this restaurant for some years now, and I have never had anything other than excellent service in this long-established place. Food also is very good - flavourful, good quality and freshly cooked, it is quite probably the best in the area, and presented and served beautifully. Long may it continue!
Dave HAug 7 2009
I first went to the Diwana when it opened 20+ years ago. The owners are the same now as then, always friendly and great service. I now live 3500 miles away in NY but visit Sanderstead at least a couple of times a year, and always make sure i make a couple of visits. The prawn puree to start with, chicken tikka masala, mushroom bhaji and a naan. If i catch a day flight, i always try and get there before closing! A long way to go for a curry, but defintely worth it, and better than any other Indian restaurant in the South Croydon area.
Jenny & Ian TowersMar 8 2009
We came here on a busy Saturday evening with friends, and I have to say we had a fantastic time. We were greeted and offered drinks at the bar by an extremely polite waiter whilst we waited for a table to become free. Upon being seated we were informed of a 'chef's special' for the night, which was an authentic Bengali lamb curry, cooked on the bone. This was superb and niether I or any of our friends had ever had anything like it. We were advised that they offer such weekly specials on Friday/Saturday nights, and these are dishes which cannot be found in other Indian restaurants. Service was great, and unlike many other restaurants we've visited the waiters wree so polite and helpful. Overall, great food and fantastic service. See for yourself!
JanetFeb 22 2009
My boyfriend brought me here on Valentines just gone, as this is where we came on our first date 4 months ago. We had such a fantastic time, food and service were exceptional despite the place being packed out. Little touches such as the fresh tasting chutneys served with papadoms,the beautifully presented dishes and friendly waiters set this place apart from the other mediocre curry houses out there. I also got to take away a lovely heart shaped balloon and was given a beautiful red rose also. We had such a pleasant evening, I know where I'm being taken next valentines!! Highly recommended..
unknownFeb 16 2009
food wasnt nice..
plates was dirty.
JoeFeb 7 2009
Great food and atmosphere. Diwana is a fantastic local Indian offering good value for money and tasty dishes. Service is spot on, with a lovely personal touch. The restaurant has been part of the high street for nearly 25 years and has a large and loyal customer base. Highly recommended.
SimonNov 19 2008
I have been using the Diwana for the last four to five years and I would like to congratulate the staff and management for always ensuring I have a fantastic meal. I love the fact that they have not gone doen the route of many other restaurants with tacky, garishly coloured interiors, instead opting for a simple yet stylish hue, with comfy black leather chairs.
Food is great, and well presented on bright white crockery. The weekend specials are fabulous and I have never seen dishes such as the lamb chop curry on other indian menus. All in all very satisfying. Well done!
UnknownMar 12 2008
I used to come here with my parents in the 80's so went back with some friends. Curry has moved on in the 25years but Diwana has not. The service and food was terrible. Rude waiters, no attention had to even ask for a glass for my drink! food cold and tasteless. reheated dried chicken, microwaved prawns, sticky rice,chipped plates, dirty plate warmers, cold flannels, draughty room cramped noisy,no cloakroom. Very dissapointed.do not recommend it at all- NEVER AGAIN!!
SimonJan 25 2007
Excellent food,good service - what more can I say!
DavidNov 16 2006
DavidNov 16 2006
Nice food,good service and very good value for money - keep up the good work chaps.
TomJun 9 2006
What a fantastic restaurant! My wife and I have been regulars here since the 80's. Whenever we go out with friends we always come here and we have never been disappointed. Delicious food, great service, wonderful atmosphere, tremendous value. The weekend specials are an absolute treat, too! Highly recommended.
David & SueMay 20 2006
We have been regulars at the Diwana almost every Saturday evening since moving to the area over 9 years ago. The food and service are fantastic, and you are always made to feel at home. The ambience in the restaurant is great, whether you're looking for a romantic dinner, or for a spectacular evening out with friends and family. By far the best curry in London. (And the World!!)
Regular CustomersSep 3 2005
i think this resturant is brilliant, the food is great and a really good price, the staff are friendly and the actual resturant is really nice looking. I give it 20/20
d
QuinMay 30 2005
I first met with the team at Diwana when they had their restaurant in Thornton Heath at least 25 years ago. We lost touch when they moved on but following a (most welcome) chance rediscovery my family and I started visting Sanderstead regularly. I can honestly say that the food and service are the best that I know - I would never eat Indian anywhere else in the Croydon area!
AhmedMar 26 2005
Mine was only a takeaway, but! excellent food, fresh, aromatic and extremely delicious. I found it better tasting than many prime London Indian restaurants.
Review this restaurant
Whichtable.com 2007
Home Search & Book Meal/Shows Towns Archive Downloads Links Login Restaurateurs About Us Contact